Board of Directors

Under Direct Relief’s bylaws and consistent with legal requirements, all activities and affairs of the organization are managed, and all corporate powers shall be exercised, by or under the direction of the Board of Directors. Among other functions, the Board reviews and approves a strategic plan, annual operating budgets to execute the plan, and all organization policies.

The Board, through written delegations of authority, authorizes the CEO, CFO, or other staff members to manage the day-to-day activities, finances, and operations of the organization, subject to limitations that the Board determines. However, the Board retains direct responsibility for personnel decisions (including compensation) relating to executive staff and may not delegate certain responsibilities, including overall fiduciary responsibility, general oversight, and Board organization and governance.

Direct Relief’s President/CEO and its CFO do not sit on the Board of Directors. Both positions report to and serve at the pleasure of the Board.

Moreover, California law assigns specific responsibilities directly to the CFO regarding the organization’s financial management and reporting, and requires that these responsibilities remain separate from those of the CEO.

Directors are volunteers who serve without pay.

2014-2015 Board of Directors

  • John RomoChairman of the Board, Former Superintendent/President, Santa Barbara City College
  • Rita Moya, Vice Chair, Chief Strategist, BioIQ
  • Lawrence Dam, Secretary, Former President and Chief Operating Officer, Televisa International, LLC
  • Mari Mitchel, Assistant Secretary, Fundraising Professional and Volunteer
  • J. Michael Giles, Treasurer, Former CEO Merrill Lynch International Banks and Merrill Lynch International Private Banking
  • Patricia Aoyama, Retired Engineer
  • Kendall Bishop, Retired Partner, O’Melveny & Myers, LLP
  • Sharon Bradford, Designer and Co-Owner San Marcos Growers Nursery, Fundraiser, Community Activist
  • David Brown, President, Somera Capital Management
  • Les Charles, Television Writer and Producer
  • Patty DeDominic, Managing Partner, DeDominic & Associates
  • Patrick Enthoven, Founder and Former Chairman, Hollard Insurance Group
  • Patrick Fitzgerald, Senior Vice President of Marketing and Communications, FedEx
  • Hon. Paul G. Flynn, Los Angeles Supreme Court Judge, Retired
  • Gregg L. Foster, Owner, Elyria Foundry
  • Dorothy Gardner, Foundation Executive, retired
  • Ernest J. Getto, Retired Partner, Latham and Watkins, LLP
  • David Lee Gibbs, Ph.D.,President and CEO, Giles Scientific Inc, Santa Barbara CA, USA
  • Linda Gluck, Former Bank President and Public Official
  • Bert Green, M.D. Interventional Cardiologist
  • Beth Green, Registered Nurse
  • Angel Iscovich, M.D., Chief Executive Officer, EmCare Pacific West
  • Joanna Kerns, Hollywood Actress, Director, and Producer
  • Nancy Walker Koppelman, Activist and advocate for health, education, and human rights
  • Mark Linehan, President, Wynmark Company
  • Dante Di Loreto, President, Ryan Murphy Television
  • Jeanne Newman, Partner Hansen, Jacobson, Teller, Hoberman, Newman, Warren & Richman, LLP
  • Julie Rabinovitz, President & CEO, California Family Health Council
  • Barbara Rubin, Former School Teacher, Advocate for Issues of Justice and Peace
  • Mark Schwartz, Former CEO, Import Distritribution Industry
  • Mary-Louise Scully, M.D., Director of the Travel and Tropical Medicine Center of the Sansum Clinic
  • George Short, Shareholder, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP, and Senior Vice President/General Counsel, Somera Capital Management, LLC
  • Gary Tobey, Chairman and CEO, Haworth Marketing and Media
  • Steve Weintraub, Certified Financial Planner, Partner in West Coast Financial, LLC

Honorary Board

President Emeritus

  • Sylvia Karczag

Director Emeritus

  • Dorothy Adams

Chair Emeriti

  • Thomas J. Cusack
  • Richard Godfrey
  • Stanley C. Hatch
  • Dorothy F. Largay, Ph.D.
  • Denis Sanan
  • Nancy Schlosser


The Board is organized by committees, on which nondirectors may serve. Board committees conduct similar advisory and oversight functions with respect to specific areas, such as programs; information technology; human resources and personnel; strategic planning; and fund development. Direct Relief board members participate on the following committees:

  • Finance
  • Executive
  • Investment
  • Audit
  • Human Resources/Compensation
  • Nominating & Governance
  • Development/Campaign
  • Marketing / Communication
  • Strategic Planning
  • Building


Contact & Copyright

© 2001-2014 Direct Relief. All rights reserved.
Direct Relief is a registered 501(c)(3) organization.
Direct Relief
27 S. La Patera Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93117
Phone: (805) 964-4767
Fax: (805) 681-4838
Federal Tax ID number: 95-1831116
Email & Contact Form
Privacy Policy | Donation Policy

Awards & Recognition