Direct Relief’s President/CEO and its CFO do not sit on the Board of Directors. Both positions report to and serve at the pleasure of the Board.

Moreover, California law assigns specific responsibilities directly to the CFO regarding the organization’s financial management and reporting and requires that these responsibilities remain separate from those of the CEO.

Executive Staff, Direct Relief

  • Thomas Tighe, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Bhupi Singh, Executive Vice President and Senior Advisor
  • Dawn Long, Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
  • Jonathan Steiner, Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Board of Directors (2021-2022), Direct Relief

Under Direct Relief’s bylaws and consistent with legal requirements, all activities and affairs of the organization are managed, and all corporate powers shall be exercised, by or under the direction of the Board of Directors. Among other functions, the Board reviews and approves a strategic plan, annual operating budgets to execute the plan, and all organization policies.

The Board, through written delegations of authority, authorizes the CEO, CFO, or other staff members to manage the day-to-day activities, finances, and operations of the organization, subject to limitations that the Board determines. However, the Board retains direct responsibility for personnel decisions (including compensation) relating to executive staff and may not delegate certain responsibilities, including overall fiduciary responsibility, general oversight, and Board organization and governance.

Directors are volunteers who serve without pay.

  • Pamela Gann, Chair, Professor of Legal Studies, Claremont McKenna; Former President, Claremont McKenna
  • Mark Linehan, Vice Chair, President, Wynmark Company
  • Siri Marshall, Secretary, Former SVP, General Counsel, and Chief Compliance Officer, General Mills
  • Byron Scott, MD, Treasurer, Adjunct Faculty, UMass Amherst School of Management & Jefferson College of Population Health
  • Jane Olson, Assistant Secretary, International Peace and Justice Volunteer
  • Thomas Sturgess, Assistant Treasurer, Executive Chairman, Tiri Group Limited and Blue Star Print Holdings
  • Mary M. Dwyer, Ph.D., President and CEO, IES Abroad
  • Stayce D. Harris, Lieutenant General, U.S. Air Force, Retired
  • Evan Marwell, CEO, Education Superhighway
  • Jay McGonigle, Former Chair and CEO, Corporate Executive Board
  • Harry McMahon, Senior Advisor, G100 Network; Former Executive Vice Chair, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Annalisa Pizzarello, Senior Vice President of Results Delivery, Amgen
  • Jamie Ruffing, Ph.D., Public Health Office, Epidemiologist, and Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Air National Guard
  • Jim Selbert, Co-Founder, Warren & Selbert
  • Steve Weintraub, Certified Financial Planner, Partner in West Coast Financial, LLC
  • Tim Wertner, Senior Vice President, U.S. Operations, FedEx Express

Honorary Board, Direct Relief

  • Sylvia Karczag, President Emeritus
  • Dorothy Adams, Director Emeritus
  • Thomas J. Cusack, Chair Emeriti
  • Richard Godfrey, Chair Emeriti
  • Stanley C. Hatch, Chair Emeriti
  • Angel Iscovich, M.D., Chair Emeriti
  • Dorothy F. Largay, Ph.D, Chair Emeriti
  • Nancy Lessner, Chair Emeriti
  • Rita Moya, Chair Emeriti
  • John Romo, Chair Emeriti
  • Denis Sanan, Chair Emeriti
  • Nancy Schlosser, Chair Emeriti
  • Mark Schwartz, Chair Emeriti

Medical Advisory Council, Direct Relief

  • Byron Scott, MD, MBA, Chair
  • Juan Carlos Alvarenga, MD
  • Federico Antillon, MD, PhD
  • Steve Arrowsmith, MD
  • Hon. Regina Benjamin, MD, MBA
  • Leigh Boehmer, PharmD, BCOP
  • Charity Dean, MD, MPH
  • Elizabeth Duarte, MD
  • Georges Dubuche, MD, MPH
  • Adrian Ebner, MD
  • Paul Farmer, MD, PhD
  • Charles Fenzi, MD
  • Daron Ferris, MD
  • Charles Filipi, MD
  • Lynn Fitzgibbons, MD
  • Susan Fleischman, MD
  • Grace Floutsis, MD
  • Henri Ford, MD, MHA, FACS, FAAP
  • Hon. Jaime Galvez Tan, MD, MPH
  • Paul Giboney, MD
  • William C. Gong, Pharm D, FASHP, FCSHP
  • Bert Green, MD
  • Elizabeth Green, RN
  • Dan Greenfield, MD
  • Douglas S. Gross, MD, PhD
  • Cother Hajat, MBBS, MPH, PhD, FRCP, FFPH
  • Angel L. Iscovich, MD, FACEP
  • Rosie Jadidian, PharmD
  • Karen Lamp, MD
  • Michael Maguire, MD
  • Laurinda Marshall, RN
  • Sofia Merajver, MD, PhD
  • Carol Millage, PharmD
  • Charles Nicholson, MD
  • Raj Panjabi, MD, MPH
  • Sonak Pastakia, PharmD, MPH, PhD
  • Jamie Ruffing, PhD
  • Bakht Sarwar, MD, MS
  • Ayesha Shaikh, MD, OB/GYN
  • Hambardzum Simonyan, MD
  • Larry Stock, MD, FACEP
  • Elizabeth A. Toro, MD, MPH, OB/GYN
  • David S. Walton, MD, MPH
  • Thomas Weisenburger, MD
  • Beatrice Wiafe Addai, MD, PhD

Fund for Health Equity Advisory Council, Direct Relief

  • Hon. Regina Benjamin, MD, MBA, Co-Chair
  • Byron Scott, MD, MBA, Co-Chair
  • Martha Dawson, DNP, MSN, RN, FACHE
  • Jane Delgado, Ph.D., MS
  • Gail Small, JD

Board of Directors, Direct Relief Mexico, A.C.

  • Pamela Gann, Chair
  • Mark Linehan, Vice Chair
  • Siri Marshall, Secretary
  • Byron Scott, MD, Treasurer
  • Thomas Tighe, President and CEO
  • Jim Selbert
  • Felipe Ize
  • Bhupi Singh
  • Cristobal Thompson